Board Approves Revised School Calendar For Days Missed This Year

calendar page with marker

Since Tuesday, January 15, 2019, the district has had 12 days cancelled and 6 late starts/early outs due to winter related issues such as ice, snow and cold temperatures.

The district calendar is based on hours and not days.  The regular day at Postville is from 8:10 A.M. - 3:30 P.M. which equals 6.9 hours or 415 minutes in length. Lunch time is excluded from the daily total. On early out days such as in-service time, school is in session from 8:10 A.M. - 1:30 P.M. which equals 4.9 hours or 295 minutes in length.

The minimum time that schools need to be in session is 1,080 hours excluding lunchtime. Postville traditionally builds in more hours above the state minimum. The calendars are approved with 1,144 hours, which is 64 more than needed. The additional hours allow for flexibility as we look at finishing the school year. At this time, Postville is projected to finish the year with 1,117 hours which is 37 more than the state law. This total includes time for 1:30 P.M. dismissals for teacher professional development and parent/teacher conferences.

The school board approved a plan for making up instructional time at the March 11, 2019 school board meeting. The start/end times for students will remain the same for the balance of the school years. The following schedule reflects days other than the regular full schedule.

Regular School Days 8:10 A.M. - 3:30 P.M.
In-service Days 8:10 A.M. - 1:30 P.M.

March 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019 1:30 P.M. Dismissal for the end of the quarter
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 1:30 P.M. Dismissal for In-service and K-6 Parent/Teacher Conf.
Thursday, March 28, 2019 1:30 P.M. Dismissal for In-service and K-12 Parent/Teacher Conf.
Friday, March 29, 2019 No School for Teacher Compensation Day and No In-service

April 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 1:30 P.M. Dismissal for In-service and 7-12 Parent/Teacher Conf.
Friday, April 19, 2019 No School for Spring Break
Monday, April 22, 2019 School in Session for a Make-Up Day

May 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 1:30 P.M Dismissal for In-service
Friday, May 31, 2019 Last day with students 1:30 P.M. Dismissal

These changes have been made to the school calendar and can be viewed at: https://www.postvilleschools.com/home/calendars