Boys Basketball Awards Announced

The 2017-18 boys basketball awards winners were announced at the annual basketball awards banquet.

Team Awards2017-182016-172013-14
Most Valuable PlayerOwen JacobsonOwen JacobsonRiley Brockway
Free Throw AwardHarrison DehningNash ReicksEvan Jacobson
Mr. DefenseNick JacobsAboody AbdullahiEvan Jacobson
Dedication AwardHarrison DehningNash ReicksJosh Jacobs
Craig Martins AwardNick Jacobs
All Substate TeamRiley Brockway
1,000 Point ScorerOwen Jacobson

Varsity Letter Winners for this year include:
Blake Wettleson, Owen Jacobson, Nick Jacobs, Jacob Steffans, Maynor Henriquez, Christian Soy, Cole Walch, Harrison Dehning, Collin Bacon, Gabe Loera

boys basketball awards winners
boys basketball awards winners
boys basketball awards winners

Multiple Classes Work Together On A Student-Led Project

Every year the Career and Technical Education (CTE ) classes work together to plan, advertise, and produce an item to sell. This student-led project is part of the requirement for our Perkins grant and it allows students to show their skills in an integrated “real-life” project.  This year, heart-shaped sugar cookies were made in Mrs. Rupard's Foods I class while Mrs. Knudtson's Accounting class worked together to keep track of sales and orders and also packaged the cookies. The Accounting class also produced flyers to help promote the sales. Mrs. Lenth’s NICC Computer Applications class was also involved as a few of her students made advertisement flyers and the order form.

The foods class made just over 400 cookies to fill the 28 dozen demand.

By working together, students realize the importance of careful planning, meeting deadlines, presenting information to the public and producing a final product.  It allows our students the opportunity to explore project-based learning and apply their technical skills.


students baking cookies
cookie dough made by students
students baking cookies
students baking cookies
students baking cookies

Sam Jacobs Performs At Tri-State JH Honor Band Festival

Postville student

On Saturday, March 3rd, Sam Jacobs represented the Postville Band Department at Tri-State Junior High Honor Band, in Decorah. Sam's hard work in many extra practice sessions leading up to the event really paid off, as he and 100+ other seventh graders joined together for a fantastic day of music-making in the concert band format. Sam is the son of Kevin and Jo Ann Jacobs.

Technology Class Creates Websites

web browser

In Mrs. Lenth’s 8th grade Technology classes, students learned about evaluating webpages by looking at balance, spacing, accuracy and content. Student used “WIX” website to create their own webpage from scratch to teach others about a topic.  The topics could include a possible career choice, a future college, a favorite hobby or activity.   Here are a few of the webpages designed by 8th graders.  Please ask your 8th grade student to share their link to their webpage, if not listed here.

Student Work

View Websites Created by 8th Grade Students

Wrestling Pride – A Career To Be Proud Of

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow

Uvaldo Camarillo has wrestled for the Postville Pirates for three years.  He has made the most of those three years in accomplishing many feats.


  • All time High School record of 115-23
  • Medal Winner at State (8th Place 2017-18 - last wrestler to place was Mitch Schultz in 2008, placing 7th)
  • Accumulated over 100 wins (2nd wrestler in the last decade to do so - and did this with only three years of wrestling)
  • State Qualifier (2016-17, 2017-18)
  • District Champion (2016-17)
  • District Qualifier (2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18)
  • Sectional Champion (2016-17, 2017-18)
  • Upper Iowa Conference Champion (2016-17, 2017-18)

All-Time Modern Postville Wrestling Records

  • 2nd for most team points scored in a season
  • 2nd for most takedowns in a season
  • 7th for wins in a single season

9 Students Advance to the State Speech Contest

banner for students advancing to state speech

Nine students from Postville received a 1 ratings at the District contest on February 24. These students will move on to the State Speech Contest at Starmont on March 10.

Students advancing are:

  • Emma Heins (Acting)
  • Jennifer Bernal (Acting)
  • Justin Hileman (Acting)
  • Andrew Hernandez (Prose)
  • Aleesa Lavrenko (Poetry)
  • Veronica Santoyo (Public Address)
  • Wilson Perez (Radio News)
  • Sapphire Miller (Acting and After Dinner Speaking)
  • Hilary De La Rosa (Prose and Storytelling)

Speech Students to Perform at All-State Speech Festival

sign congratulatiing speech students

For the second year in a row, Postville Speech has a group nominated to perform at the All-State Speech Festival in Ames, IA on February 17th!

The group earning this nomination consists of Litci Marroquin, Emma Heins, Kelsey Mucia and Brayan Silva for their Short Film entitled "Control".

"Control" is one of 16 films in the entire state to be nominated to perform! We are very excited to represent Postville once again at this year's All-State Festival!

Thanks also needs to go to those who assisted in the project: Wilson Perez, Estevan Sanchez, Veronica Santoyo, Aleesa Lavrenko, Justin Hileman, Egan Guerrero, Andrew Hernandez, Diego Nunez, Brayden Lenth, Vova Kiselov and cast members from the JH Play.

Speech is coached by Derek Friederich and assisted by Anne Friederich.

Speech Acts Move On To State Contest!!!

The Postville HS Speech team participated at district contest today at MFL MarMac. Four of our six groups are advancing to State contest in two weeks at Decorah!

Groups receiving a "I" rating:

  • Reader's Theatre- Know Your Role (Roberto, Andrew, Sapphire, Veronica, Hilary, Khiaya, Wilson, Estevan & Aleesa)
  • One Act Play-"A Game" (Litci, Emma, Andrew & Kelsey)
  • Ensemble Acting- "Ninja in Blue Jeans" (Sapphire & Aleesa)
  • Short Film- "Control" (Litci, Emma, Kelsey & Brayan)

Special thanks to Justin & Jennifer for helping your teammates prepare and set up at contest! Very proud of our team today. Every member of the speech team advanced in at least one of their categories!

Speech is coached by Derek Friederich and assisted by Anne Friederich.

group photo of speech contest participants