2018-19 Wrestling Awards Announced

Wrestling clipart

The awards for the 2018-2019 wrestling athletes were announced at the end of the year wrestling banquet. View them below or at the Wrestling Web Page.

Most Valuable WrestlerIsaac SteffansUvaldo CamarilloUvaldo CamarilloElfego MarroquinTy Mielke
Most Dedicated/Hardest WorkerCaleb Hughes & Isaac SteffansMac HugesFrancisco De La RosaMac Hughes & Drew ReicksTanner Walker
Freshman/Newcomer of the YearTraer Bodley & Tony MarroquinSabino ChilelWilly Martinez
JV Wrestler of the YearAlan MilanRoberto LopezAntonio VazquezCole SpainAldo Gonzales
Academic AwardsCole Spain & Mac Hughes
Most PinsElfego Marroquin (19)Josue Marroquin (17)Elfego Marroquin (16)Ty Mielke (12)
Most WinsIsaac Steffans (36)Uvaldo Camarillo (42)Uvaldo Camarillo (32)Elfego Marroquin (23) & Mac Hughes (23)Tanner Walker (24)
Fastest FallIsaac Steffans (17 s)Uvaldo Camarillo (13 s)Uvaldo Camarillo (11 s)Antonio Vazquez (5 s)Blayze (14 s)
Oil Can AwardWilson PerezIsaac Steffans
Most ImprovedBrian Schroeder
Most Team PointsIsaac Steffans (246)
Most FallsIsaac Steffans (21)
Most TakedownsIsaac Steffans (48)
Most EscapesIsaac Steffans (21)
Most ReversalsRiley Rankin (15)
Most Near FallsCaleb Huges (21)
CaptainsIsaac Steffans
Riley Rankin
Wilson Perez
Caleb Hughes
Letter WinnersRiley Rankin
Chris De La Rosa
Traer Bodley
Tony Marroquin
Caleb Hughes
Wilson Perez
Alan Milan
Drew Wedo
Brian Schroeder
Isaac Steffans
Isabelle Berger
Letter Winners (Managers)Melanie Avitan
Victoria Bacon Ortiz
Fatima Henriquez

Attend the Postville Wrestling Banquet

Wrestling clipart

Please join us in celebrating another great year!


Award Ceremony

When: Monday March 11th

Where: Northeast Iowa Wellness and Recreation Center Community Room (Formerly the YMCA Community Room)

Time: 6:30 pm (dinner will be first followed by awards)

What to Bring: Please bring a dish to share with everyone

Postville Wrestling Coaches Will Provide:

Plates, Napkins, Silverware, Cups, and Drinks

Isaac Steffans Qualifies For The State Wrestling Tournament

Isaac Steffans qualified for the state wrestling tournament at 220 lbs by placing as a runner up at the District Tournament on Saturday, February 9 2019.  Issac's state tournament run starts on Thursday, February 14. Class 1A begins at 1:30 p.m.

wrestler on placement stand

Purchase Pirate Spirit Wear to Support the Booster Club

Spirit Wear 2018 Order Form

The Booster Club is selling clothing. There is a variety of items as shown. Payment is due at with the order form on Tuesday, November 13, 2018. Please make checks payable to: Postville Booster Club. Order forms and payments may be turned in to either the High School Office or the Elementary Office.

Sports Teams Receive Awards

image of medal


The Postville Girls Basketball team received the the Distinguished Academic Award from the Iowa High School Athletic Association. Boys Basketball and Wrestling Cheerleading received the Excellence Award.

The Iowa High School Athletic Association has a recognition program for academic achievement by athletic teams and cheerleading squads. They recognize those teams/squads which collectively have excelled in the classroom.

There are two awards: (1) Excellence in Academic Achievement. This award is given to the teams/squads who achieve a combined grade point average of 3.00-3.24. (2) Distinguished Academic Achievement. This award is given to the teams/squads who achieve a combined grade point average of 3.25-4.00.

Awarded schools will receive a certificate for each team/squad recognized. Each team/squad member will also receive a certificate of recognition.

Wrestling Pride – A Career To Be Proud Of

previous arrow
next arrow
previous arrownext arrow

Uvaldo Camarillo has wrestled for the Postville Pirates for three years.  He has made the most of those three years in accomplishing many feats.


  • All time High School record of 115-23
  • Medal Winner at State (8th Place 2017-18 - last wrestler to place was Mitch Schultz in 2008, placing 7th)
  • Accumulated over 100 wins (2nd wrestler in the last decade to do so - and did this with only three years of wrestling)
  • State Qualifier (2016-17, 2017-18)
  • District Champion (2016-17)
  • District Qualifier (2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18)
  • Sectional Champion (2016-17, 2017-18)
  • Upper Iowa Conference Champion (2016-17, 2017-18)

All-Time Modern Postville Wrestling Records

  • 2nd for most team points scored in a season
  • 2nd for most takedowns in a season
  • 7th for wins in a single season

District 6 Wrestling Information

Wrestling clipart

Please come support the Postville wrestlers that will be wrestling

  • Caleb Hughes
  • Uvaldo Camarillo

Class 1A, District 6 Wrestling
Saturday, February 10, 2018

Site: Luther College, Decorah
Host: South Winneshiek 

Admission: $6.00
Doors open at 11am
​Wrestling begins at 12pm
Concession stand provided by the South Winneshiek Booster Club

Round 1: First-round matches

​Round 2: Championship matches & consolation semifinal matches
will be wrestled  simultaneously.

Round 3: Consolation Finals 

Presentation of Individual & team awards